Home

ERICK EXPECTED TO STRENGTHEN OVER THE NEXT FEW DAYS... Tropical Storm Erick is centered as of 11 p.m. HST (5 a.m. EDT) over the eastern North Pacific Ocean about 1865 miles (3000 km) east of Hilo, Hawaii. It's moving toward the west near 16 mph (26 km/h), and this general motion is expected to continue for the next few days with a slight decrease in forward speed. There are no coastal watches or warnings in effect. Maximum sustained winds are near 40 mph (65 km/h) with higher gusts. Tropical-storm-force winds extend outward up to 35 miles (55 km) from the center. Strengthening is forecast, and Erick is expected to become a hurricane on Monday with continued strengthening through Tuesday. The next advisory will be issued by NHC at 5 a.m. HST (11 a.m. EDT)

PreviousNext